A Rose by Any Other Name

Poem a Day Prompt: Write a Homograph Poem

Leigh-Anne Dennison (she/her)
1 min readApr 9, 2023
(Photo by Author)

He rose
with a rose
and greeted
me warmly.
We sat
and ate
at eight.
We wined,
while we dined,
Then, I whined
while we drank.
Wine does that.
More than
a drop
and my inhibitions
drop,
and I bare my soul.
He could not bear
to hear it here.
He decided
to desert me
before dessert.
Just skipped
out on me
and the check…
though I doubt
he skipped
on his way out…
(Should I check?)
So I paid the
bill
with a fifty dollar
bill…
and left
what was left
as a tip.

Some poems are deep, rich, and filled with meaning, and some are just a bit of fun word play. This poem is the latter, and was written in response to the Writer’s Digest Poem-A-Day Challenge for National Poetry Month (April 8): Write a homograph poem. Homographs are words that are spelled the same but have different meanings. Sometimes they are pronounced the same, but that’s not always the case.

If this poem gave you cause to laugh or smile, please pause to offer a single clap or a round of applause.

--

--

Leigh-Anne Dennison (she/her)

Dev Mgr, American Cancer Soc, writer/editor, photographer; anti-racist; LGBTQ & animal activist. Married, cat, dog & fish mom. ko-fi.com/leighanned